Who the Heck Says YOU Are a Writer?

I love hockey. Fanatic. Maniacal fanatic.

I played as a kid. Skokie Park District team and my high school club team, the Niles West Indians.

I stunk.

Well….

… maybe that’s a bit harsh. But I wasn’t very good.

Was I a hockey player?

Sure I was! I wasn’t a National Hockey League superstar. But I was a hockey player.

It’s okay to call myself a hockey player. It’s not okay to say I was a star in the NHL.

Jeff Goins is a writer, and although I have never met him in person, someone I consider a friend. He wrote a brief post on why you aren’t really a writer until you decide to call yourself a writer.

I agree.

Do you write? No? Well, then you’re not a writer. But if you write, then you’re a writer.

It’s that simple.

Was I a hockey player?

So who are you trying to convince? Somebody else?

Or you?

Listen and watch what happens when you confidently tell a person that you are (or introduce yourself as) a writer.

Try it. Observe.

Two takeaways:

(1) They believe you.
(2) You start to believe it, too.

Over time, you replace your internal dialogue. A person who doesn’t know you immediately identifies you a certain way. You, however, know you. If you haven’t already identified yourself as a writer, how can you convince yourself?

Unless you convince yourself.

Tell yourself you are a writer.

2 Responses to Who the Heck Says YOU Are a Writer?

  1. DeeScribes says:

    I introduced myself as a writer for the first time yesterday, and learned I was talking to a well-known author and illustrator! She was delighted to meet me, and offered advice and ideas. She also offered to keep in touch and encouraged me to keep writing. If I had introduced myself as my paid employment title, the conversation would have been different.

    P.S. I’m a hockey fan, but not a player :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

