How You can Write Your Way out of Writer’s Doubt

I’m stepping aside today to introduce you to a friend and fellow writer, Lorna Faith. Lorna has words of encouragement for you when seeds of doubt begin to take root.

Lorna loves to write romance, mixed with adventure and suspense. She teaches music during the day and listens to other people’s stories for her podcasts and blogging, yet she still finds time to, as she says “scribble on my next fiction book.”

Lorna is passionate about helping writers step past resistance to get their stories into the world! She says she gets her inspiration to keep writing every day from her husband, who loves all forms of art, and their fun-loving, encouraging teenagers.


How You can Write Your Way out of Writer’s Doubt

by Lorna Faith

Doubt is normal part of every writer’s life.

The simple truth is: None of us can ever get totally away from it.

Even the best writers battle self doubt.

First, you need to know there’s nothing wrong with you for doubting yourself. It’s perfectly normal.

As I’ve talked with many writers I’ve had the privilege to know, this is perfectly normal.

Because all writers doubt themselves.

The problem comes when doubt overwhelms us so much that it holds us back from creating the work we are meant to create.

If doubt isn’t faced square on and tossed out on its ear, it won’t allow you to say what you really wanted to say.

You might have written something really good, but if the words don’t resonate with you as much as they would have if you’d said what you really wanted to say, then you’re a victim of Writer’s Doubt.

We’ve all struggled with doubt

Doubt is something that won’t quit. Doubt is a formidable opponent. It can hold us back from being true to ourselves and keep the real words we need to say locked up inside of us.

But here’s the good news. You can overcome doubt.

It is true, that doubt will always be part of your creative life, just like any resistance. But, it doesn’t have to cause you to stop creating.

You can choose to create anyway. You can overcome doubt. You can write your way out of writer’s doubt.

Here’s the awful truth of what Doubt can cause us to do:
• Stops us from uncovering our authentic voice.
• Holds us back from reaching our true potential.
• Prompts us to question whether we should be writing at all.
• Compels us to seek other people’s approval over and over again.
• Makes us wait for someone to pick us.

My Struggle with Writer’s Doubt

I’ve experienced this firsthand.

It wasn’t until I was 41 years old that I started writing my first book. When I was little I wrote stories, but only in secret. I hid them because I doubted my stories would be good enough for anyone else to read them.

I think serious doubts crept in when I was told my handwriting was awful when I was in grade 4. My teacher forced me to write by hand an hour everyday after school. Although my handwriting really improved a ton, I didn’t like to be kept away from playing with my animal friends at home.

It wasn’t until I was in my mid-thirties, when I was homeschooling our four munchkins, that the dream of writing began to come back again.

I still remember the questions that ran through my mind. ‘Is it possible that I could actually become a writer – am I good enough? So many amazing writers are out there, why would any reader bother to read what I have to say? I’ve never had any training, or even been encouraged to write, am I just being silly thinking I could do this?’

On and on the thoughts twisted around in my head like a funnel cloud tossing me back and forth. This continued for weeks until I came to the end of it.

Finally, I just said ‘enough. I’m at least going to try to write.’ I pulled out some lined paper and a pencil and wrote one page of a story.

With that one little action, I felt like I had turned a corner. Something inside me had shifted. I had stepped through the invisible barrier that had held me back for so long. I felt like the warrior inside of me – that had been in hiding until that day – had slayed the dragon of resistance.

Since that time, almost everyday has brought doubts about my ability to string words together.

However, I learned something important. You can write your way out of writer’s doubt. Movement does bring clarity.

The more you write, the more you’ll believe you can.

I know I’m not going to be the next Suzanne Collins and I’m never going to write like James Joyce. But I do want to be the best writer that I can be. With my authentic voice. I am committed to continue to:

Write words that matter and share them with the world.

Despite the doubts and the very real possibility that the odds are against me.

Even as I write this, self doubt is questioning me. Who do I think I am to be able to write this to you, considering all my struggles and doubts I’ve had.

I’ve had no formal training, only time invested in learning from other writers, bloggers, podcasters and listening to Webinars. But I’m convinced that if I can overcome doubt and resistance – and battle it everyday – to write and publish books, you can too.

So, If you’ve struggled with doubts or fears that you can write or that you could possibly publish your words for the world to read, I want to help you.

I know much of the doubt and insecurity you’re feeling. I’ve been there. And i would love to show you how you can unlock your authentic writing voice, write and publish your book in my upcoming Webinar on Saturday, June 13. If you can’t make it to the Webinar, you could always add your name to the group of people who want to be notified when the online course on how to Write and Publish Your First Book is ready to go.

Don’t let doubt or fear hold you back from taking the risks that you know need to be taken. Don’t wait for someone to pick you. And most of all don’t let doubt steal your writing dreams.

Make the choice today to take that first step. To believe you are a writer. Lean in, and write your way out of writer’s doubt.


 

I hope Lorna’s words helped you. I didn’t know the exact topic Lorna was going to write about, but was eager for her to guest post on my blog. Reading her words helped me sort out a few “issues” that crept into my writing time lately.

Here’s how you can connect with Lorna:

Or sign up for her June 13 Webinar at http://www.lornafaith.com/writing-webinar-2/
Or sign up for her upcoming writing course at http://www.lornafaith.com/signup-writing-course/
6 Responses to How You can Write Your Way out of Writer’s Doubt

  1. renee says:

    Lorna is an amazing woman! I have had the honor and privilege of speaking to her . . . she knew the words written on my soul. #Lornagetsit

    I am very blessed to have such encouraging people in my life.

    Like

    • lornafaith says:

      Awww… thanks so much Renee for your amazing words of encouragement. I really appreciate you too my friend. I’m very thankful for you! Thanks for taking a few moments to stop by Renee and have a beautiful day today :)

      Like

  2. Just what I needed to hear today. Thank you for your wisdom.

    Like

    • lornafaith says:

      I’m happy these words helped today! I’m always excited to encourage other writers in their journey… because there’s days when it’s not very easy. Keep writing Antonia… you’ll love it when you see the published product of all your hard work :) Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  3. oh my. Good pointers. I needed this! Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lornafaith says:

    I’m glad this helped you:) Keep writing through the doubts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

