What is the best time to write?

ZZZZZZZZZZZ……………..

I predict a short post today.

You’ll soon find out why.

As the day dragged on and the hours grew short, I struggled against drooping eyelids to forward some e-mails I had promised my son.

“I can’t fall asleep yet!  I haven’t finished my blog post!”

I joined The Ultimate Blog Challenge at the beginning of January (thanks Michele Scism and Michelle Shaeffer), pledging to blog daily for the entire month.   I was already on a roll, having started my Twelve Days of Christmas series as part of my “Healthy Holidays” Survival Guide on December 26.

So this would be no problem, right?  Just keep the momentum going and keep on writing!

Problem is, life keeps getting in the way.  Schedule back to normal post-holidays, less time to write first thing in the morning — or any time in the morning — and before you know it, it’s 10:00 at night and I still haven’t banged out the day’s post.

When is your best time to write?

Are you a morning person?  Is it easier for you to roll out of bed, grab a cup of coffee or tea, wipe the sleep out of your eyes, and sit down at the computer right away?

Or are you a night owl?  Does the thought of arising before the sun is high in the sky send a chill down your spine… and make you pull the covers a little higher, roll away from the window and drape a pillow over your eyes?

Do your children or pets dictate your writing schedule?

Are you better midday when the kids are at school and the cats are curled up in their favorite napping oases?

I know that I’m at my best in the morning.

That also happens to be the time that I’m busiest with my clients.  So I safeguard my hours on the days that I’m actually free in the morning.  I want to devote as many morning hours to writing as I can.

Not today.

Priorities got in the way.

Shouldn’t my writing be my first priority?

It all depends on the day, doesn’t it?

It does for me.

Today was one of those days.

But I managed to wedge a couple of toothpicks between upper and lower eyelid and keep the eyes open just a bit longer.  Got a modest second wind after sending Stephen those e-mails.

And here’s my post.

Asking that burning question, when is your best time to write?

2 Responses to What is the best time to write?

  1. Cheri says:

    I most often write at night, usually posting somewhere between 10 and midnight (sometimes even after the day rolls over). That isn’t necessarily my preference, but it does usually seem to work out that way. I’m not at all a morning person, but I think I’d prefer to write either late afternoon/early evening. But, as you say, often life gets in the way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

